What Is The Difference Between Simple Assault And Aggravated Assault In Pennsylvania?

What Is The Difference Between Simple Assault And Aggravated Assault In Pennsylvania?

Pennsylvania law defines two different types of assault: simple assault and aggravated assault. This blog post will discuss the differences between these two crimes. Keep in mind that this information is not intended to be legal advice; if you have been charged with assault, you should speak to an attorney immediately.

What Is Simple Assault?

Simple assault is generally defined as an attempt to physically harm another person or the intentional causation of fear of imminent bodily injury. Simple assault can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony offense, depending on the circumstances of the case.

Penalties for Simple Assault in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, the penalties for simple assault vary depending on whether the charge is filed as a misdemeanor or felony. Misdemeanor simple assault is punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of $5000. Felony simple assault is punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of $25,000.

Simple assault can also be charged as a Misdemeanor of the Third Degree, punishable by up to one year in prison or a fine of up to $2500 if the person:

  • Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon.
  • Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.

In addition, those convicted of simple assault may be required to complete a probation period or perform community service.

What Is Aggravated Assault?

Aggravated assault is a more serious charge than simple assault and is generally defined as an attack with the intent to cause serious bodily injury. Aggravated assault can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony offense, depending on the circumstances of the case.

Penalties for Aggravated Assault in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, the penalties for aggravated assault are more severe than those for simple assault. Aggravated assault is a felony offense punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.

Moreover, if the victim of the assault is a police officer, firefighter, or another first responder, the penalties are even more severe.

If you have been charged with assault in Pennsylvania, it is important to understand the difference between simple assault and aggravated assault.

By understanding the difference between the two charges, you can better defend yourself against the charge and get the best possible outcome in your case.

If you have been charged with assault, contact Brennan Law Firm today for a free consultation. Our experienced criminal attorney in Philadelphia will help you understand your options and protect your rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.